TOEFL practice test

exercises to help you improve your TOEFL score

TOEFL FAQs

frequently asked questions about the TOEFL test

TOEFL Topics Compilation

common topics asked during the TOEFL test

TOEFL 101

basic information about the TOEFL test

Wednesday, May 25, 2016

TOEFL Review Tips

There is nothing more stressful than having to attend to reviews – review for the TOEFL and NPTE. I am a physical therapist and these two exams were by far the most challenging phase of my life. To be able to take the NPTE or the National Physical Therapist Examination, I had to get my required score for the Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) first.

Thursday, May 19, 2016

Learning English Quickly for the TOEFL

Non-native English speakers find learning English as a great deal of challenge. Perhaps with the rules one has to be familiar with, learning the English language may take some time and may need a little more effort. For people who are preparing for the TOEFL test alone or with a TOEFL center, they have learned different strategies to quickly learn English.

Wednesday, May 4, 2016

TOEFL vs. IELTS – What’s the Difference between them?

Non-native English speakers are sure to be familiar with the different English proficiency exams. These English proficiency exams are usually a requirement to non-native English speakers when applying for work or study visas in English speaking countries. These are proven tests to accurately evaluate one’s English skills.

A lot of people know these tests, yet some are wondering with the difference of the two. Let us break down the differences between the TOEFL and the IELTS tests.

Wednesday, April 20, 2016

Do I Need To Take TOEFL Exam?

This is the exact question I asked myself a year ago, and I am thankful that I did take the TOEFL.

Working as a physical therapist here in the Philippines, I found myself stressed with the workload and with the salary I was getting. Prior to that job, I had worked as a volunteer to some rehabs. I did not have any problem doing the work since this is what I love most. I actually enjoyed being with my coworkers and patients. It was my supervisor rehab who encouraged me to try my luck finding work overseas.

Tuesday, April 5, 2016

Common Dilemmas of TOEFL Exam Takers

Like taking a regular exam, test candidates for the TOEFL also face different problems during their reviews and even on the actual TOEFL exam day. Some say that these problems are inevitable, yet TOEFL instructors are sure that dilemmas faced by TOEFL test takers are just simple and can easily be avoided and even eliminated.

Friday, March 11, 2016

Why take TOEFL?

Individuals taking the TOEFL examination face a great challenge ahead of them. The number of non-native English speakers taking the TOEFL examination continues to increase every year. Test candidates are urged to take all the necessary preparations before taking the test. Most candidates of the TOEFL need its certification for certain applications overseas. However, do all individuals take the TOEFL for this sole purpose? Why do people take the TOEFL test?

The TOEFL test is not an English proficiency examination that candidates should be complacent with. It tests the ability of an individual to understand and use the English language in an academic environment. Having a mediocre level of English will not result to a good score in the TOEFL. Hence, test candidates invest in TOEFL review programs that can help them achieve a level of English at par with TOEFL.

Monday, March 7, 2016

THE TEN BEST TIPS TO GET A HIGH SCORE ON THE TOEFL IBT!

We have heard a lot of things on how difficult the TOEFL is. If we continue to believe and anchor our prejudice to this, then we will surely have a hard time reviewing for the TOEFL. Yes, the TOEFL can be pretty difficult; however, with the right amount of review and practice, one can surely get a high score in the TOEFL. Here are a few tips on how to get a high score on your TOEFL test.
1. Know what the TOEFL is.
Basic understanding of what the test is can help save your life in the examination. For starters, the TOEFL is an English proficiency examination taken by non-native English speakers as a requirement for work or study visa applications. It is an internet-based test, so all you need for the exam is a good working computer connected to the internet. The test has four different sections: reading, listening, speaking and writing. Each section has a perfect score of 30, so the perfect score for the TOEFL test is 120. There is no pass or fail in the TOEFL test. Candidates for the examination have these required score to reach to be able to use the TOEFL with their applications.
2. Have good vocabulary for the TOEFL.
Your vocabulary is not only limited reading. Actually, it is used in all sections of the examination. In speaking, you have to use the right vocabulary to express your ideas in your responses. Also, in writing, using the appropriate vocabulary makes your essays logical and intelligent.
3. Build good listening skills.
Note-taking plays a huge part in the exam. Listen to passages carefully and make sure you have the right key phrases from the passages and details to support them. Practice organizing your notes as you might have problems reading them once you prepare for your responses in the test.
4. Practice pronunciation
It is really not a requirement to have an American accent. What the evaluators look for is how well you are in understanding the tasks and the clarity of your speech. To have clear pronunciation, open your mouth wide enough when speaking. Practice clear pronunciation by listening to podcasts or watching Youtube tutorials.
5. Review on grammar
This is a crucial part particularly in speaking and writing. In a TOEFL review, students always overlook rules on grammar especially on the subject-verb agreement and verb tenses. The content of the responses and essays are compromised if these two are taken for granted. There are a lot of review lessons online where you can study.
6. Practice writing journals
Journal writing prepares you to write long essays for the TOEFL. Start off with simple topics and get more comfortable with writing more serious topics. Have them checked by someone you know who is good at English.
7. Be familiar with the use of computers
Some examinees are not used to using computers. As early as today, learn the basics of the computer – the ones needed for the TOEFL test. This is possible by taking TOEFL mock exams.
8. Register for the test a few months before the exam.
Some review for the TOEFL for three to six months. Booking a slot early will give you enough time to learn concepts and strategies for the examination.
9. Relax during the exam
Once your anxiety consumes you, there is a possibility that you will feel uneasy all throughout the exam. Before the day of the exam, take a lot of rest and sleep early. Arrive at the test center an hour before the exam and be sure to have a light breakfast.
10. Practice
Just like what they say, practice makes perfect. Drown yourself with practice tests and mock exams during your TOEFL review. Best of all, be with review centers as they have a detailed TOEFL review program to help their students hit their target scores.
TOEFL review is an important ingredient in your success in the TOEFL. Make sure you have got the right materials and enough time to review for the test.